style identified

STYLE IDENTIFIED: SUSY OLUDELE

Susan Oludele, 22, hairstylist

Nickname: Susy

Her website: www.hairbysusy.com

Her blog: http://www.africancreature.blogspot.com/

She’s on Instagram @AfricanCreature

Her fingers are always on the move.

“I’ve always loved doing hair,” she said.

If you are familiar with the ever-growing trend of natural styles on women of color, “Hair by Susy” is a household phrase. Susy Oludele has traveled all over the country booking hair appointments left and right, and that includes celebrity clientele.

From kinky twists to Marley braids, Susy’s ability has grown since she began doing hair at 14 years old. This New York dweller was recently on a hair tour and paid Charm City a visit.

I am booked all week,” she said.

Can we do a shoot sometime this week?

“How much time do you need?” Occupied up until her train was to leave for the Big Apple, she was only able to give the camera one of her many eccentric, afro chic looks.

The one interesting thing about her? “I like to sleep,” she said.

How she does it? Who knows.

Book an appointment with Susy. 

Describe your style. I can’t really describe my style, but for the most part, I can say more on the afrocentric style.

What can’t you live without? My iPhone.

You’d never be caught in… white tights.

Where do you like to shop? I love getting a good save so I would say Salvation Army, Goodwill, Unique & corner thrifts.

Who/what inspires your style? Everyday people.

Favorite hairstyle: Since I can do my hair myself, it’s hard trying to figure out a favorite hairstyle. I love any natural hairstyle.

Hair Inspirations? Heyfranhey &  kimmaytube

So what were you doing in Charm City? Was on tour and Baltimore, MD is one of the places I was highly requested.

Thoughts on Baltimore City’s style: I can’t really say much just for the simple fact that I haven’t gone to many parts in Baltimore. I don’t want to judge too early, haha.

Thoughts on your city’s style: Being a girl growing up in the bronx it was hard trying to find a certain style that’s cool & that people will respect. I like the fact that if you go a different borough you get a different sense of style. Everyones different, everyone wears what they want.

Anything else you want to talk about? I think hard work & consistency is the answer to a successful career. Find what you love to do and stick with it!

Leave a Reply

